Wednesday Thoughts + the 4 Stages of Belgium

I’ll try to write up something about Spain’s elimination, and I’ll also do something about CONCACAF in this World Cup, but for now I’ll just give a little sampler of what’s on my mind (and then something about Belgium after):

-This blogging experience, which is one of many attempts I’ve made at being a blogger (I’ll probably share some of my old posts on a slow day), could be going much worse. Considering the fact that I’m terribly lazy and experience something that makes writer’s block  like eating a cookie, this has been somewhat successful.

-Apparently I’ve had views from Canada, Ireland, Germany, plus 27 from the US. While 20 of that 27 is probably me, it’s still nice to see that this blog is getting some views, even by accident. I want to add that I wholeheartedly appreciate all of you for wasting spending time reading me talk about adults kicking stuff.

-Alex Song? What is wrong with you? You shouldn’t hit people, but especially when they don’t have the ball. Not only do you do that, but you’re doing it in what is basically an elimination game at the World Cup!

-Luka Modrić, I think, might have made a mistake by cutting his hair. He isn’t playing poorly, but if I was about to play in a World Cup and I’ve been playing well at club level, I wouldn’t change a thing.

-Do you know who refereed the Spain-Chile game? MLS’s Mark Geiger! I’ve seen this guy referee a game in person, and now he’s at the biggest stage. In this case, he was proceeding over the former king’s execution like Maximillian Robespierre.

-Oh, and I’m not saying that Mark Geiger is an insane revolutionary. He’s a pretty good referee. Maybe it was a bad analogy, but any opportunity to make a French history reference is one that I can’t help but capitalizing on.

-Tim Cahill, one of Australia’s greatest players, scored his second goal this World Cup in as many games. As he also picked up his second yellow card he will be suspended for the game vs. Spain, Australia’s last due to their mathematical elimination. The 34-year-old has thus most likely ended his World Cup career, where he’s scored 5 goals in 8 games. That record is made even more astonishing considering the fact that in his three World Cups Australia has only made it out of the group stage once, when Guus Hiddink was coach back in 2006.

-Oh, and do you know where Tim Cahill plays? For the New York Red Bulls, in MLS!

-I’ll say one thing about Spain’s elimination: watching Xavi on the sidelines being sad makes me sad. I’m glad that they didn’t also show Juan Mata being sad. That would’ve been too much to bear.

-I’ve been thinking a good bit about my preview article for US-Portugal. I’ll lock myself in the closet making it on Friday, and I’ll finish it off Saturday night Eastern US time. Hopefully. It will be like my epic USA-Ghana preview, only better and with more CR7.

-And before I do that, I’ll drop a CONCACAF-based view at the World Cup, and I’ll also drop something on Spain’s elimination, if I can find the time. But I’m not making any promises on the latter.

-In lieu of a real England-Uruguay preview, I’ll say this: Wayne Rooney is England’s best player. He hasn’t showed it in the World Cup, but that doesn’t change the facts. He did poorly vs. Italy mainly because he was on the wing, which isn’t his best position. Oh, and he did have a good club season, despite the fact that his team was poor, so don’t come at me with any of that.

-I’d like to say something about Germany: in the last game they had Bastian Schweinsteiger on the bench, Phillip Lahm at central midfield, and both of the full-backs were converted center-backs. Couldn’t they move Lahm to left-back, and then put Schweini in the team? I know that Lahm is a good D-mid, and that’s where he’s been playing at club level, but he’s also a good full-back, and Schweinsteiger is too good to leave off the team, I think. Am I the only one who thinks this is crazy?

[EDIT: I have since learned that Schweinsteiger had injury concerns. But I still insist that when the entire team is healthy it’s better to put Lahm at full-back. They’re a great team either way, though.]

-I’ll get to the Belgium thing, but first I want to reveal the USMNT’s secret to making it out of the group: we have a Boateng brother, too: Zack-King Boateng. He’ll make his debut vs. Portugal. Game. Set. Match. Boateng.

(Note: is there a name more American than “Zack?”)

The 4 Stages of Belgium

You know, I could write all day and all night about Belgium. About their fascinating country, their fascinating national team, Eden Hazard, Thibaut Courtois, “Big Rom” Lukaku, Vincent Kompany, Fellaini’s Hair, Witsel’s Hair, and all that stuff, but for now I’ll just write about the thought process that has gone around about the public opinion of this team:

1. Discovery: “Wait, he’s from Belgium, too? Man, there are a lot of good Belgians.”

You notice that several prominent players are from Belgium. Not anything special yet; I mean, the Ivory Coast have lots of good players and they’ve been poor despite those players.

2. Realization: “This Belgium team is a dark horse to win it all!”

Everyone noticed that they had a lot of quality players, and that they theoretically make a good team. Everyone makes the discovery that, hey, this team can make some noise in Brazil! And they feel so good about it.

3. Hipsterism: “Belgium are as good as that underground band you’ve never heard of.”

Are Brazil, Spain, Germany, and Argentina too mainstream for you? Then pick Belgium. They’re cool. I mean, they’ve got Kompany, Hazard, and Courtois; plus, if you pick them over those four then you’re standing apart from the crowd. Is anything cooler than that combination? Belgium became trendy.

4. Annoyingness: “If you call them dark horses one more time I’m not responsible for what I do!”

Belgium have become so trendy that they’re now mainstream. Many people have scoffed at people calling Belgium “dark horses,” mainly because they’re 5th favorites to win the World Cup. By the way, if you’re telling me that Belgium have a better chance at winning the World Cup than Italy, I’m very sorry. See, World Cup success doesn’t come that easy.

Seriously, though, this is someone’s Belgium preview:

“DON’T CALL THEM DARK HORSES!!!!”

“But, I wasn’t going to ca–”

“JUST DON’T, OKAY!?!?”

“I wasn’t thinking of–”

“They are NOT dark horses!!!”

“Okay, but can’t we–”

“Because lots of people have said ‘Belgium are dark horses’ AND IT ISN’T TRUE!!!”

“Yes, but let’s talk about Hazard or–”

“Do you think they’re dark horses?!?”

“No, but–”

“NOBODY CALL THEM DARK HORSES!!!”

“We have a preview to do.”

“Nope, we’re out of time.”

 

That’s it. Remember, stay tuned to Daniel’s Soccer Emporium (I’m Daniel, by the way), your home for adults kicking stuff.

5 thoughts on “Wednesday Thoughts + the 4 Stages of Belgium”

  1. Schweinsteiger is recovering from injury. He has been declared fit to play only one day before the game against Portugal, but that doesn’t mean that he is already on the top of his game. There is really no sense in forcing him to play when there are alternatives to fill in for him.
    Concerning the German defence: That is kind of the biggest problem for the German team…always has been. There are a lot of middle fielders, and enough centre backs, but there was always a real problem with the full backs. Because of that there was a lot of doubt that moving Lahm away from his position was a good idea, but it kind of makes sense. Since he tends to think like a defender, he automatically helps out on what is kind of the weak spot of the German team. It’s like having a third defender if you need it.
    Thus said, most German players can do well on multiple positions.

    1. Thanks for commenting!

      I forgot about the injury, although now I remember. It makes sense considering that, although I still think that when he gets healthy Lahm should move to full-back.

      As I said when I ranked them #1 in my Power Rankings, they’re probably the best team in the world. Organized, intelligent, and dominant; every good thing that I, someone who’s never been to Germany, thinks about Germany. Now that Spain’s out I think that Germany is the only European team that can win it.

      1. There are always the Italians…one should never underestimate them and since Germany never managed to win against them in a tournament (in fact they kicked us out in 2006 AND 2012), they always have the psychological advantage.
        Also the Netherlands…they didn’t look good against the Australians, but I think it was mostly overconfidence. Once they realized that they were in danger of loosing, they had a better grip on the game.
        At this point I think it is more likely that a European team will win than one of South America, despite the climate.

        Lahm hasn’t been played full-back at Bayern München lately either, he is quite comfortable on the position he is now. We’ll see what Löw will do, especially now that Hummels might not be fit for the next game.

      2. I still like to quote the stat that no European team has won in the Americas. Still, though, I have Germany #1 in the Power Rankings for a reason. We don’t know what will happen until it does. Who would’ve guessed that Spain would’ve been knocked out after only playing twice? Not I. Despite me being from a CONCACAF nation, I also wouldn’t have predicted Costa Rica to beat Uruguay. This has been an exciting World Cup so far.

        We’ll learn a lot more about the Dutch when they play Chile, and then in the knockout stages as well. I won’t make a verdict on them until they play teams that will make the knockout stage, which they haven’t done yet. I’ve always thought that Italy had a chance, although they too have only played England, and I think that there are better overall teams in the tournament.

      3. It really has been exiting. Currently I am very bummed that Japan got a draw last night…I really want to see them advance, but the chances are very slim now. And they wold have deserved it imho.

Leave a Reply

